On the Hunt for Mary Beaton Indian Connection

Hello all!

It has been quite some time since my last communication.  I have opened up my mother’s side of the family now, moving from Moores in Ireland, to the Gills and Beatons in Dominion Point, Exploits, Newfoundland.

There may be an Indian (Micmac?) connection to one of my ancestors, Mary Beaton b. between 1795-1815 in Exploits Burnt Island Nfld (possible Mi’Kmaq), mother of Charles Beaton Gill, wife of James Gill, and a servant in Mr. PEYTON’s house with the last Beothuk SHAWNADITHIT (Nancy, Nance April), and her grandaughter, Sophia Ellen Gill (b. July 8, 1859, Peter’s Arm, Newfoundland), who had a son, Nathaniel Gill (later Hart) out of wedlock, who was then adopted by Charles and Mary Ann Hart of Botwood, Newfoundland.

3rd Gr-Grandfather: CHARlES BEATON GILL b. 1832 Kite Cove/Exploits, Nfld d. 1887 Botwood Nfld

Looking forward to a chat with my mother and Aunt Daphne “Down Home” for some good old legend mixed with fact.

More soon….

P.S. Contact me if you have any information.  My VCard can be found under “About/Contact” or go to http://www.kristamoore.com for my other site.

Thanks,
Krista Moore

ie., “That’s Relative!”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thatsrelative.wordpress.com/2012/08/26/on-the-hunt-for-mary-beaton-indian-connection/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Mary was Micmac based on the info my family has on her … She was my 5x Great Grandmother. She did work for Mr. Payton. My sister has done most of the research on this & has several stories that go along with it.

    • Gloria,
      Thank you for responding. The only info we have on Mary Beaton is mostly by word of mouth – as most Indian legends go! Her son apparently told a journalist she was micmac, but we never saw evidence of this in the book that he was quoted in. If you have more than we have, I would love to see it. I sent you an email, and hopefully we can connect.
      Thank you,
      Krista

  2. Have you found out any further information on this Krista??? I think I just responded to another post you had on a different site. I didn’t remember posting a comment here … LOL! I have pulled everything back out & am trying to figure some more things out!!! Any more info would be great!

    • Hi Gloria,
      As I responded on the other board, no I haven’t, but I continue to stay open to it. There seem to be many people working on this, and so far it all seems to be “story” and heresay – of course we respect that as all families pass down the “truth” in stories, but with genealogy we are still hunting for facts and so far have no records to prove it. My understanding is she was an Indian servant in Mr. Peyton’s house, and married James Gill. My friend Bud Beaton who lives at the base in Botwood knows an awful lot about it and gave me the materials for the family tree. He has proven indian status based on his grandmother – and is a distant cousin of mine/ours. But he had papers to prove it. So we can just keep trying and hope someone strikes gold! Thanks for commenting.
      Krista


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

