“Mooreville” Maberly

On our trek to Maberly, Ontario, our local host Karen Prytula showed us around – by foot. Yes, you can walk most of the Maberly road without getting too tired, in about half an hour. However, you can’t take everything in, the sights, the sounds, the whispers of old, in less than that. It takes time after time, memory even.

Eventually, it sticks to you like meat to the bone, until stories take shape out of sticks and stones.

Maberly Town Hall, South Sherbrooke  1884

Up on the wall of Town Hall we find the “Reeve’s cane”, with my great-great grandfathers, Thomas Moore, Esq, and Ephraim Deacon Esq. (unbenownst to them at the time, their son and daughter later married). I could see Thomas Moore now, likely six feet tall (his son Lawrence was 6′ 4″ with attitude) with a dignified walking stick, and Ephraim twisting his moustache as the meeting was called to order.  Thomas takes the Chair’s seat, listens and reviews many decisions that will be made in forming the future of South Sherbrooke, from the early 1860s to the late 1880s.

Reeve’s Cane, Town Hall, Maberly

See More on Maberly Moores.

Published in: on August 22, 2013 at 5:15 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatsrelative.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/mooreville-maberly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It was funny that you posted this information on August 22, 2013. On that day I went to Maberly (from Jordan NY) to look for my G-grandmother’s gravesite at what I believed to be Cedar Chapel Cemetery. Using the old 1880 map, I determined the resting ground to be just down the road from the Laidley Cemetery. Of course, it wasn’t.

    My G-grandmother Hannah Suzannah Buchanan Moore Bone was reported in a local newspaper to have died and buried in the Cedar Chapel Cemetery. She was the widow of a John Moore at an early age. She remarried a Mr. Thomas Bone and had a daughter Elsie Bone. After Hannah’s death, my grandmother, Elsie lived with her aunt, Minnie Moore and the rest of her Moore family. Minnie Moore and her husband Herbert Young moved to Central New York.

    • Hi Glenn,
      I’d have to go “Digging” pardon the pun – but I visited the Laidley cemetery – was Susannah not right beside John Moore? We found his grave easily – it was fallen back but Karen helped dust it off and there were old flowers around it. I seem to remember a Susanna nearby – I hope I’m right. I can ask Karen if you like. She lives in Maberly.

  2. […] Karen Prytula–photo from-“Mooreville” Maberly […]

  3. […] “Mooreville” Maberly with our very own Karen Prytula from the Lanark County Geological Society featured. […]


Leave a comment